Award for Excellence in Teaching

Teaching Tolerance Award for
Excellence in Teaching

The Teaching Tolerance Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes educators who excel at teaching young people how to thrive in diverse settings, achieve academically and work collaboratively.
The award is presented every two years to K-12 teachers who employ research-based practices to help students develop positive identities, exhibit empathy, consider different perspectives, think critically about injustice, and take informed action—activities that are central to Teaching Tolerance’s mission.


2018 Winners

Our 2018 winners inspired us with their dedication to—and effectiveness in—creating spaces, curricula and communities where all students can thrive. Click on their names to watch them in action!

Mayra Almaraz, Elizabeth Kleinrock, Rebecca Coven, Charlie McGeehan, and Danna Lomax | TT Award Winners
Mayra Almaraz, Elizabeth Kleinrock, Rebecca Coven, Charlie McGeehan and Danna Lomax


Mayra Almaraz | Chicago, Illinois 

Almaraz is a teacher at William Howard Taft High School, where she teaches Latin American history and ethnic studies classes.


Rebecca Coven | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Coven is a 10th-grade English language arts teacher at The Workshop School.


Elizabeth Kleinrock | Los Angeles, California

Kleinrock is a 4th-grade teacher at Citizens of the World Charter School. 


Danna Lomax | Ventura, California

Lomax teaches at Anacapa Middle School, where she teaches English language arts, world geography and serves as the dual-language liaison.


Charlie McGeehan | Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

McGeehan teaches high school humanities at The U School.


How to Apply

We will begin accepting nominations and applications for the 2020 Excellence in Teaching Award in Fall 2019. Check back here for more details.


Meet These Former TT Award Winners